An email from Amy

Today I received an email from a woman who works in a shop called Foyles, this is a funny coincidence because I was just talking to someone about Foyles earlier because there are some of the books ‘Jasper’ wants in that book shop. Sometimes a word will crop up lots after you learn it for the first time! Foyles is a funny fish.  : )

I sent her an email back, I hope we can help each other figure out our strange happenings!

Hello Amy,

What you say does sound very strange, but such strange things have been happening recently that perhaps I don’t really know what normal is after all!
I have never met anyone called Miss Havisham even though my name is similar to Miss Havisham, what is she like? Is she the same as the Miss Havisham in the book Great Expectations?
Can you tell me more about the book you found – how was it blank? on the outside or the inside or both? this is very strange. I will read your blog, I also have a blog! it is called https://junehaversham.wordpress.com . Perhaps the strange things that have happened in your work are related to the strange things that have happened in my work, although so far I don’t see how they could be other than they have happened at the same time.

In my work I have been emailing Jasper Fforde because I work in the publishing house where his books are published. Not long after I started my placement in the Publcity and Marketing Department, I received an email from Jasper saying that he had lost all his contacts by dropping his computer on a wall. I got everyone to email him so that he had their addresses again, but he still emailed me instead.

He asked me to stop the quiz going out on time so he could check the questions and then he added a new last question and the ‘scribbler’ tie breaker challenge. This made the quiz late and I got in big trouble. : (

I then found out that he had made the last question of the first rounds wrong! He had put the correct answer as being that the new book is called ‘The Great Samuel Pepys Fiasco’ when it is of course ‘First Among Sequels’! It is easy to make a little error, but he should know the name of his own book, that is a really big error!

I started to get suspicious that the writing style in his emails was so very different to the writing style of his books so I asked some nice people for their opinion and some people said they thought he was an imposter this whole time!

Now he has asked me to help him find a range of his favourite books called Dupine books, but even though it is a very simple task I’m not sure I should help him at all in any way if he has been lying to me!

So those are the strange things that have been happening at my work.

oh, and my friend peter has stopped answering my emails, but that’s not too strange because he is a Narcissus.   > (

Does any of this sound similar or help you at all? I know some very nice helpful people I could ask them to help you too.

june

On 26/06/07, Amy Greenford <amygreenford@gmail.com> wrote:

Dear June,

Thank you for your emails and no worries about the wrong answer on the quiz – to be honest, I wouldn’t know anyway! I haven’t yet read any Jasper Fforde. However, the reason I’ve even got in touch with you in the first place is that I have had a rather strange couple of weeks described on my blog: http://amygreenford.blogspot.com

Anyway, not to bore you with all the details, many people have mentioned Jasper Fforde to me and the lastest email I got from someone who has been reading my in blog was regarding the competition:

A few weeks ago, I received an email about a Jasper Fforde quiz, claiming to be from someone called June Haversham (…) The similarity between the names struck me as odd – Havisham vs. Haversham. She has apparently been receiving emails from a Jasper Ffforde, about a new book. Note the 3 fs again, just like in the book in Foyles. This Ffforde seems to somehow be harvesting literature to create their masterpiece. The major problem is that I’m certain it is not the real Jasper Fforde,

In a nutshell, I work in Foyles, I witnessed what some people have said was a ‘book jump’, one of the jumpers being Miss Havisham, and the other, a groom who we don’t know. A week later, I found an almost blank copy of Wuthering Heights in Foyles and since then two more have been found. I have now met Miss Havisham who has warned of 9 more books in peril. (See blog for a more cogent explanation)

Does this seem ridiculous. If so, sorry to have blabbered all this time. If not, can you let me know if you have any information that can help?

Thanks a lot!

Amy

P.s e.g is there any link between your name and Miss Havisham? Your name, albiet spelt slightly differently, can’t be very common?

Thanks!

I have met Miss Havisham from Great Expectations.

On 6/26/07, June Haversham <june.haversham@hodder.co.uk > wrote:

Hello Amy,

It has been pointed out to me by my boss that the last question on the first part of the quiz has the wrong answer let you win instead of the right answer. She said lots of people have emailed to say that it isn’t right that they have to give a wrong answer to win. I’m very confused that the answer is wrong in the quiz. Of course the book is called First among sequels! Did you email in? If you did, don’t worry, you don’t lose any points if you gave the right answer before the wrong one.

That last question and the scribbler tie-breaker were two of the things that Mr. Fforde had us put in at the last moment, so I am very surprised that the question was wrong, because he checked them himself.
Oh dear, this is all going a bit wrong, this is my first job and I’m starting to get the impression I’m not expected to last long here. I’ve never worked in a publishing house office before, it’s all a bit overwhelming. Have you ever worked in an office? can you give me any advice on how to not get ‘the boot’?

june


june haversham
Junior Designate, Publicity & Marketing
Hodder & Stoughton
(t)  0207 873 6302
(e) june.haversham@hodder.co.uk

3 Responses

  1. No matter if some one searches for his required thing, thus he/she wishes to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

  2. Howdy! I simply wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for your
    excellent information you have got right here on this
    post. I will be coming back to your site for more soon.

  3. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d really
    appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

